International Information Discover America

Home > Trip Planner > South Dakota Laws

Trip Planner

South Dakota Laws

Speed Limits

The maximum speed limit on interstate highways is 75 mph (120 kph). There are exceptions in urban areas, which are posted near Sioux Falls, Rapid City and North Sioux City. On other highways, the maximum speed limit ranges from 55 to 70 mph (88 to 113 kph).

South Dakota Codified Laws 32-25

Seat Belts and Child Restraints

South Dakota law requires drivers and front seat passengers to use seat belts. A passenger restraint system is also required for infants and children (younger than 5 years old).

South Dakota Codified Laws 32-37 and 32-38

"Move Over"

To help ensure the safety of law enforcement and other emergency and stopped vehicles, as well as that of drivers, motorists are required to move over and slow down when passing any vehicle displaying amber or yellow flashing lights. On interstates, drivers must merge into the lane farthest from the stopped vehicle. On two lane highways, drivers must slow to a speed limit that is at least 20 mph (32 kph) slower than the posted speed limit.

South Dakota Codified Laws 32-31-6.1


It is unlawful for a person under 18 years of age to drive or ride on a motorcycle unless that person wears an approved safety helmet. Eye protection devices must be worn by all operators and passengers of all motorcycles.

For more driving and licensing information, see South Dakota Motorcycle Driving Laws.

South Dakota Codified Laws 32-20

Reporting Accidents

The operator of every motor vehicle involved in an accident in which there is a death, personal injury or damage to any one person's property of $1,000 or combined damage to property of $2,000 shall immediately report the matter to the nearest available peace officer who has jurisdiction.

South Dakota Codified Laws 32-34

Alcoholic Beverages

The legal drinking age for all alcoholic beverages is 21. Malt beverages are available on- and off-sale 7 a.m. to 2 a.m. Monday through Sunday morning. On Sundays, liquor and wine are sold on-sale in restaurants only, 11 a.m. to midnight. Package liquor sales on Sunday are allowed only by city or county ordinance. Some Indian reservations are alcohol-free environments. Please check with tribal offices before importing alcohol onto reservations.