International Information Discover America

Home > Newsroom


Annual Tourism Award Nominations Due Sept. 2

Print button Share

PIERRE, S.D. – The Department of Tourism wishes to recognize exceptional individuals and businesses who have contributed to the state’s tourism industry.


The South Dakota Department of Tourism is now accepting nominations for the Ben Black Elk Award and the A.H. Pankow Award.


The Ben Black Elk Award recognizes those who’ve made outstanding contributions to the visitor industry. The A.H. Pankow Award recognizes a media member whose coverage of the state’s visitor industry is unmatched and who has excelled in quality photo-journalism, editorial, or design.


“We want to encourage anyone to nominate an individual or business they feel has excelled in supporting tourism,” said Jim Hagen, Secretary of the Department of Tourism. “Tourism is a vital part of South Dakota and it’s important to recognize those who make the visitor industry in our state successful.”


The awards will be presented at the Governor’s Conference on Tourism January 19, 2012, at the Best Western Ramkota Hotel and Conference Center in Pierre.


Governor Dennis Daugaard will present both awards during the closing banquet of the conference.


Nominations for a business or individual worthy of consideration are due September 2, 2011. Nomination forms are available at


Quick Links

Nomination Forms
South Dakota Department of Tourism


Wanda Goodman
Media and Public Relations Director
Phone: (605) 773-3301