International Information Discover America

Home > Newsroom


Department of Tourism Now Official

Print button Share
PIERRE, S.D. – The Executive Reorganization Order creating the Department of Tourism, signed by Gov. Dennis Daugaard in January, goes into effect today. The new Department of Tourism also includes the South Dakota State Historical Society and the South Dakota Arts Council.
Section 54 of the executive order states: “There is hereby created a Department of Tourism. The head of the Department of Tourism is the Secretary of Tourism who shall be appointed and serve pursuant to the provisions of the Constitution of the State of South Dakota, Article IV, §9.”
“The smaller makeup of this new department allows us to have a tremendous, and necessary, focus on tourism,” said Secretary of Tourism James D. Hagen. “We’re also very pleased to have the Arts Council and State Historical Society as part of our new team. There are several ways to integrate their missions into tourism in order to benefit the department as a whole.”
Prior to the order being signed, the Office of Tourism, South Dakota Arts Council and Historical Society were divisions of the Department of Tourism and State Development, which also included the Governor’s Office of Economic Development (GOED) and the division of Tribal Government Affairs. Both GOED and the Department of Tribal Relations are now individual departments under the Executive Reorganization Order.
“As the state’s second largest industry, employing more than 28,000 people, Governor Daugaard’s vision to elevate the importance of the department has generated a lot of excitement in the visitor industry,” said Hagen.
The South Dakota Department of Tourism is comprised of Tourism, the South Dakota Arts Council, and the South Dakota State Historical Society. The Department is led by Secretary James D. Hagen.


Wanda Goodman
Media & Public Relations Manager
Phone: 605-773-3301