International Information Discover America

Home > Newsroom


Annual Tourism Award Nominations

Print button Share


Annual Tourism Award Nominations
Due September 2
PIERRE, S.D. – Each year at the annual South Dakota Governor's Conference on Tourism, awards are presented to outstanding members or organizations who have contributed to the state's visitor industry. 
Nominations for the Office of Tourism’s two annual awards, the Ben Black Elk Award and A.H. Pankow Award, are due September 2, 2009. If you know of a business or individual worthy of consideration, tell us about them. Nomination forms are available at:
The Ben Black Elk Award recognizes an individual who has made outstanding contributions to South Dakota’s visitor industry. The A.H. Pankow Award recognizes a commitment to excellence in photo-journalism, editorial or design and honors a member of the media whose coverage and promotion of the state’s visitor industry is unparalleled. Governor Rounds presents both awards during the closing banquet of the annual Governor’s Conference on Tourism.
The 2010 Governor’s Conference on Tourism will be held January 20-21 at the Ramkota RiverCentre in Pierre. For more information, visit
The efforts of the Office of Tourism are part of Goal 1 of the 2010 initiative to double visitor spending in South Dakota. The Office of Tourism serves under the direction of Richard Benda, secretary of the Department of Tourism and State Development.