PIERRE, S.D. – The first settlers within the present boundaries of South Dakota were French fur traders, who established a fur post on Cedar Island on the Missouri River in 1802, roughly 20 miles below Pierre.
The area in which the fur post was established was part of Louisiana, receded by Spain to France in 1800 and ceded by France to the United States in 1803. In accordance with the wording on the historical marker located 20 miles down river from Pierre on S.D. Hwy 34, Lewis and Clark stopped at this fur post on September 22, 1804.
Trade activity at the fur post on CedarIsland went on until 1810. In 1817, Joseph La Frambois established FortTeton on the present site of FortPierre, and settlement has been continuous since.
The Marks of History series is a project of the South Dakota Office of Tourism designed to highlight historic markers all across South Dakota. Click on the special “Marks of History” link at www.MediaSD.com to access the complete list of articles.
The Marks of History series is part of Goal 1 of the 2010 Initiative to double visitor spending in South Dakota and Goal 4 to enhance history and arts as a tool for economic development and cultural tourism in South Dakota. The Office of Tourism serves under the direction of Richard Benda, Secretary of the Department of Tourism and State Development.
Note: The South Dakota Office of Tourism is not responsible for the text included on these markers. Some of the language used at the time of production may not be appropriate by today’s standards. Please view the markers at your own discretion.