International Information Discover America

Home > Newsroom



Print button Share
February 2009 – The Sturgis Motorcycle Museum & Hall of Fame is accepting nominations for the 2009 Freedom Fighters Hall of Fame.
The Freedom Fighters Hall of Fame recognizes the sacrifices individuals across the nation, and world, have made to protect the rights of motorcyclists through their efforts in the political arena and in grass roots motorcyclists rights organizations. To show our appreciation for their commitment the Sturgis Motorcycle Museum & Hall of Fame established the nation’s first and only Freedom Fighters Hall of Fame in 2001.
The Sturgis Motorcycle Museum & Hall of Fame is currently soliciting nominations for the 2009 Freedom Fighters Hall of Fame. Individuals are encouraged to participate in the nominating process by submitting the name of an outstanding Freedom Fighter along with a brief bio as to why this person deserves to be recognized. Biographical information and credentials should be no more than two pages. All nominations must be received by April 1, 2009.
Nomination forms are available by emailing or by visiting our website at If you have questions, contact Executive Director Christine Paige Diers, 605.347.2001 or email 
United States
Arizona – Ralph “Sonny” Barger CaliforniaJohn Paliwoda, “Deacon” David Phillips, NY Myke Shelby Connecticut – Donald “Pappy” Pittsley, JohnRogue” Herlihy District of Columbia – Senator Olympia Snow, Beverly Waters, Tom Wyld ColoradoMark Buckner Florida – Elizabeth “Boots” Buckholz,Doc Reichenbach Indiana – Michael Farabaugh
Illinois – Todd Vandermyde Iowa – Dick “Slider” Gilmore Kentucky – Jay Huber Maine – Paul K. Vestal Michigan – Angel Burton, Representative James Barcia Minnesota – Governor Arnie Carlson, Bob Illingworth, John Sullivan, Bob Summer, Representative Tom Workman Montana – Glen Fengstad Nebraska - Rich “Neb” Nebelsick  Nevada – Fredric Harrell New Mexico – Dennis “Big D” Watson North Carolina – Rick Nail Ohio – Bill Bish Gary Sellers Oregon – Butch Harbaugh South Carolina – Jesse McDugald Pennsylvania – Rick Gray Texas – Sputnik Washington – Swede MatzekWisconsin – Wayne Curtin, Senator Dave Zien, Tony “Pan” Sanfelipo, Sue Menard, Governor Tommy Thompson, Buck Kittredge
Canada, Europe, Australia
England – Fred Hill, Ian Mutch, Simon Milward
The Sturgis Motorcycle Museum &Hall of Fame is a non-profit 501 (c) 3 organization and is open year round.
- end –