International Information Discover America

Home > Newsroom



Print button Share

February 2008 – The Sturgis Motorcycle Museum & Hall of Fame is accepting nominations for the 2008 Freedom Fighters Hall of Fame.

The Freedom Fighters Hall of Fame recognizes the sacrifices individuals across the nation, and world, have made to protect the rights of motorcyclists through their efforts in the political arena and in grass roots motorcyclists rights organizations. To show our appreciation for their commitment the Sturgis Motorcycle Museum & Hall of Fame established the nation’s first and only Freedom Fighters Hall of Fame in 2001.

You are encouraged to participate in the nominating process by submitting the name of an outstanding Freedom Fighter from your state, or province, along with a brief bio as to why this person deserves to be recognized. Biographical information and credentials should be no more than two pages. All nominations must be received by April 1, 2008.

Nomination forms are available by emailing If you have questions, contact Executive Director Christine Paige Diers, 605.347.2001 or email California – John Paliwoda, "Deacon" David Phillips, NY Myke Shelby ConnecticutDistrict of ColumbiaColorado Doc Reichenbach IndianaIowaKentuckyMinnesotaMontanaNew MexicoNebraskaNorth CarolinaOhioGary Sellers OregonSouth CarolinaPennsylvaniaTexasWashington – Wayne Curtin, Senator Dave Zien, Tony "Pan" Sanfelipo, Sue Menard, Governor Tommy Thompson, Buck Kittredge – Swede Matzek – Sputnik – Rick Gray – Jesse McDugald – Butch Harbaugh – Bill Bish – Rick Nail - Rich "Neb" Nebelsick – Dennis "Big D" Watson – Glen Fengstad – Governor Arnie Carlson, Bob Illingworth, John Sullivan, Bob Summer, Representative Tom Workman – Jay Huber – Dick "Slider" Gilmore – Michael Farabaugh - Mark Buckner Florida – Elizabeth "Boots" Buckholz, – Senator Olympia Snow, Beverly Waters, Tom Wyld – Donald "Pappy" Pittsley, John "Rogue" Herlihy




United States


– Ralph "Sonny" Barger


– Todd Vandermyde


– Angel Burton, Representative James Barcia

Canada, Europe, Australia


– Fred Hill, Ian Mutch, Simon Milward

The Sturgis Motorcycle Museum &Hall of Fame is a non-profit 501 (c) 3 organization and is open year round.

- end -