International Information Discover America

Home > Newsroom


Kingsbury County: Home of “The Little Town on the Prairie”

Print button Share

PIERRE, S.D. – Kingsbury County is home to “The Little Town on the Prairie,” De Smet, made famous by author Laura Ingalls Wilder. The county also hosts the communities of Arlington, Lake Preston, Iroquois, Oldham, Badger and Erwin.

Enjoy a unique journey into the life of Laura Ingalls Wilder with guided tours through her original homes. Explore the houses where her family spent their first South Dakota winter, take an exciting covered wagon ride and enjoy the Laura Ingalls Wilder Pageant, held the first three weeks in July.

The placement of the railroad played a major role in the development of Kingsbury County. Visit the De Smet Depot Museum and tour exhibits featuring the area’s early history. Adjacent to the museum is the schoolhouse attended by famous prairie artist Harvey Dunn. Visit the city library and view several of Dunn’s original works.

Visit the Lake Thompson State Recreation Area, originally called Dry Woods Lake by Native Americans. Located six miles southwest of Lake Preston, this lake is an angler's haven with plentiful numbers of walleye, perch and northern pike. The region also offers some of the best pheasant hunting in east central South Dakota.

The Uniquely South Dakota series is a project of the South Dakota Office of Tourism designed to highlight unique aspects and attractions in each of South Dakota’s 66 counties. This profile was researched and compiled by Shayla Waugh, public relations intern for the Office of Tourism.

Click on the special “Uniquely South Dakota News Series” link at to access the complete list of articles.